Department News : 2010 :

Ralph Sacco, M.D., (right) receives his AHA presidential pin from AHA past president Clyde W. Yancy, M.D., during an induction ceremony in Dallas.

Miller School Neurology Chairman Inducted as President of the AHA

Miller School neurology chairman Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S., is the new president of the American Heart Association for its 2010-11 fiscal year, beginning July 1. He became the first neurologist to hold the position when he was inducted into office during a ceremony in Dallas on June 22.

Read more »

James and Esther King and Bankhead-Coley grants help advance cancer research

Miller School Scientists Awarded Millions in State Research Grants

The battle against cancer being waged in numerous Miller School labs is getting a $12 million boost from the Florida Department of Health’s Biomedical Research Program grants supporting research in cancer and tobacco-related diseases. Twenty-three UM researchers collectively won about 27.5 percent – the largest share – of the $45.5 million in grants awarded…

Read more »