Department News : 2012 :

From left, Miller School Dean Pascal J. Goldschmidt, M.D.; UM President Donna E. Shalala; U.S. Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen; CTSI director Jose Szapocznik, Ph.D.; and Guerda Nicolas, Ph.D., associate professor and chair of educational and psychological studies, at the CTSI announcement Monday at the Life Science and Technology Park.

Grant Catapults UM into Consortium Dedicated to Turning Discoveries into Therapies

The University of Miami has been awarded a prestigious $20 million grant that has the power and promise of transforming the institution, the community, and all of South Florida into a hub for turning scientific discoveries into practical solutions and treatments that improve the health of the diverse region — and beyond.

Read more »

From left, Hansel Tookes, Chanelle Diaz, FMA President Vincent DeGennaro, M.D., and Marek Hirsch

Medical Students Rally to Enact Clean Syringe Programs in Florida

In an unprecedented move that could significantly reduce the spread of infectious diseases, the Florida Medical Association voted at its annual meeting in July to seek legislation that will legalize syringe exchange programs for injection drug users. The resolution, submitted by the FMA’s Medical Student Section, was written by Miller School students Marek Hirsch and Hansel Tookes.

Read more »